when Religion gets ugly

3 07 2010

My posts dealing with religion have started some heated debates. My article ” Is the god of jesus the god of the old  testemant” has brought me alot of accusations( mostly from the same person). Yet the same people who ridicule me for pondering such an Idea are quick to judge Islam. alot of christians try to say that the god of the muslims is not the same god as the hebrew god. yet, what I have read of the Koran, it is apperent that Allah is Yaweh. The Koran tells us that Allah is the God of Abraham. It also encourages Muslims to follow the teachings of Moses and jesus. I am also tired of misimformation about Islam. Many Christians stae that the Koran promotes bad treatment of women. The Koran say’s that the worst sin a man can commit, is to dishonor a woman. There is no equivalent statement in the old testament.  The old testament has many statements that teach that women are noty equal to men. In hebrew culture women were treated like second class citizens. alot of christians say that the Koran promotes violence. The Koran actualy discouarages the use of violence, except for self defense. The old testament on the other hand, talks of the rictcheousnes of the hebrews for slaughtering the innocent in the name of god. No, I am not Muslim, I am a christian so don’t try to use that one. Donot accuse me of being ignorant either. Besides christianity I have studied Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, budhism, Kabalah, Kundalini yoga and lots of Philosophy. of course I I have been acused of knowing nothing about religion or philosiphy. an as far as statements that only christians and jews are moral, this is untrue. I am ahighly moral person. I atribute my morality to the Principles of Karate, Not my catholic upbringing, which to me seems very immoral. To all those  christians that would Judgeme ” Do not judge, lest you be judged, for the measure you give you shall also recieve”

“With or without religion, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things. But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion. “
    –   Steven Weinberg, quoted in The New York Times, April 20, 1999
Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

